Halfway Through the Voids

October 29, 2011 § 9 Comments

The Voids – the space from where ideas emerge.  The sheer emptiness of oblivion.  The intent.  The air that we breathe, and the light that we rejoice. This is The Voids.

I’m currently halfway through my debut album – The Voids.  Details of release are currently unknown, but here’s the back story.

In March this year my good friend and musical supporter Gary Bull encouraged me to work on my own music after recent complications with previous band Ghost of the Gully.

All the members of this band I love dearly and I feel that we will be brought together to make music again one day.

Ghost of the Gully at the studio during the recording of the Pieces EP


So during March I created the single Lunar Lull and it was released by The Clockwork Club – founded and run by musical partner and friend Charlie Costello.

Charlie and Moses working in KMD studios

Lunar Lull was released under the name Moses Melkonian, and many people have asked me why I chose this name.

Moses or rather Movses Melkoninan was the name of my Grandfather who fled his homeland of Armenia. He fled as an Orphan after his parents were massacred during the Armenian genocide in 1915. I wanted to honour him and my heritage in my music, hence Moses Melkonian.

A subtle reminder of the Armenian genocide in 1915

I received a lot of support after the release of Lunar Lull and my dear friend and supporter Gary Bull offered me a management deal and his studio to record an album in.  I have known Gary for years, his passion and energy has never failed to inspire me.

Gary Bull rehearsing at KMD studios

It is those people who have stretched their hands out to me that are as responsible for the creation of the forthcoming album than me.  It is for those people that I compose.

Another great friend who has given me so much is Aaron Leaman.  He came on to the scene back in Summer. In fact before he came, there was no scene. Just loads of great people in about a 20 mile radius making great, great music . To name a few Xuuki, Hugo Willams, Nick Bryne As Elephants Are

I remember Aaron saying, “I love this scene here cause everyone does it for the music for art, not for girls and ego shit.”

He came along with a camera and spent every day of every week filming promo videos for free for anyone he liked.  From that emerged the label, the channel, the idea Young Exeter TV.  Not only is Aaron a great film maker but he is an all round artist who understands where art fits into our daily lives. Check out his website Aaron Leaman

Aaron rockin' the harmonica

Another great friend who has inspired me with his dedication work ethic and… sick humour! – is Max Saidi.  Drummer from Ghost of the Gully, member of the Clockwork Club Collective and all round Mediterranean dude.

Max on the kit at KMD studio

Max Saidi has offered his time and skills on the forthcoming album.  Having his input makes the whole process more exciting and real.  Making music by myself in the studio is a thrill, but having someone else come in and play on it, or give me their opinion is surreal and refreshing.  Max’s style of playing has always made me go crazy, and I’m sure he will do justice to the album and on the road.

This post is just a round up. I’m halfway through and thanks all you lovely people above for helping me make this real.

With Love.

Photo taken by Aaron Leaman

§ 9 Responses to Halfway Through the Voids

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Halfway Through the Voids at .

meta

